What I Ate: Hong Kong

The whole point of our trip to Asia was to get some dim sum- let’s be real. If you haven’t caught up on the good eats from Vietnam, head back to this post first before diving in to an amazingly different recap. While Vietnam felt wild and adventurous for us, Hong Kong was a cosmopolitan dream. While I knew there would be skyscrapers and designer stores, the elegance and vitality of the city was equally as exciting to us as the first stop on our trip.

Our time in Hong Kong was spent hiking up Victoria Peak from a friend’s swanky apartment halfway up the hill, exploring the commercial center full of shops and noodle bowl stops, taking ferry rides to Kowloon, bussing to the seaside for fresh seafood, and sampling Hong Kong style french toast (I never need to eat that much butter again). While I admit that it is hard to eat enough dim sum in 3 days to be satisfied, I now feel confident that my local stops in Denver and Portland are legitimate enough to curb my craving for a barbecued pork bun or stir fried broccoli.

We tried to stuff all the dim sum possible into our faces without looking like Americans:

Char Siu So - Baked Barbecue Pork Buns Steamed Chinese Razor Clams in Sai Kung, Hong Kong Har Cheong Fun - Shrimp Rice Noodle Rolls Lai Wong Bao -  Steamed Egg Custard BunsGai Lan - Chinese Broccoli with Garlic and Ginger Shumai - Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumpling

Clockwise from the top:

Char Siu So – Baked Barbecue Pork Buns

Steamed Chinese Razor Clams in Sai Kung

Lai Wong Bao –  Steamed Egg Custard Buns

Shumai – Steamed Shrimp and Pork Dumplings

Gai Lan – Chinese Broccoli with Garlic and Ginger

Har Cheong Fun – Shrimp Rice Noodle Rolls

Have you had dim sum before? It has been a favorite weekend brunch of mine since I was young, so traveling to Hong Kong felt surreal.

About Uproot Kitchen

http://uprootkitchen.com/
This entry was posted in What I Ate and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to What I Ate: Hong Kong

  1. sarajanelle says:

    Oh… my… oh… I’m dying. Gimme. HEY PS I need to text you, I’ll do that in a moment.

  2. veniceng says:

    shumai is my favourite dimsum since childhood. mm mm good

  3. carlyjg says:

    BBQ Pork Buns are going to haunt my dreams. Those things look amazing.

    I went to Hong Kong when I was 13, but I was a super picky eater back then, so I basically just ate white rice and Chinese candy. So cultured ;).

  4. Nope -I haven’t tried dim sum – but now feel I am missing out!
    Glad to have stumbled by your space today – am off to go find me sum dim sum :)

  5. Pingback: How To: Homemade Cheese Crackers | Uproot from Oregon

Leave a comment